Use Our Search Form to Check Prices & Availability
The 13th century city walls surrounding the Old Town are the best - preserved fortifications in the north of France. Built by the Count of Boulogne, Philipe Hurepel, on the site of an ancient Roman fort, the Ramparts are made up of seventeen turrets and four gates, which have changed very little over the years, and surround the Cathedral, the château, the 17th century watchtower and the cobbled streets of the Old Town. From the gates, visitors can access the ramparts from where they can enjoy fantastic views over the lower town and the surrounding countryside.
The Hôtel du Ville (Town Hall) & Le Belfroi (Belfry)
The Town Hall was originally built in 1735 during the reign of Louis XV, although it has been renovated over the years. It is the only building in the Old Town made of brick and stone and beneath the roof sit the sculpted emblems of the town, the swan and the three massive heraldic balls; these have been part of Boulogne’s coat of arms since the 11th century. The Belfry, attached to the Town Hall, is Boulogne’s oldest building dating from the 12th century and was originally the keep of the old mediaeval castle before becoming a belfry in the 13th century. Visitors can enjoy breathtaking views over the port, the town and the sea.
Calvaire des Marins (Sailors’ Cavalry)
Built to resemble the hull of a boat, the Calvaire des Marins is a sanctuary dedicated to the memory of sailors lost at sea. The poignant chapel is decorated with commemorative plaques and coloured buoys; coloured for the boats still at sea and black and white for those that never returned. Visitors can also enjoy views of the port, the sea and, on a clear day, across to England.
The Promenade San Martin & The Beach
The sandy beach is perfect for children and adults alike, with a variety of water sports to enjoy throughout the year. The Promenade San Martin is dominated by the statue of the Argentine Libertador, José de San Martin, inaugurated in 1909, and is also busy with shops and stalls in the summer. Visitors can also walk out to the little red lighthouse and enjoy the views across the water.